Executive Summary
The Delhi High Court addressed two separate applications in the dispute between ITC Limited and Raj Kumar Mittal & Ors. Regarding a request to use a new label, the court found that the proposed packaging did not appear deceptively similar to ITC's marks, thereby lifting the existing ad-interim injunction for this specific design. Separately, the Court initiated proceedings against Mr. Prem Chand Mittal for alleged assault and deliberate disobedience of previous orders.
Practitioner Note
This case demonstrates the evidentiary and procedural standards applied in trademark matters before Delhi High Court - Orders. Understanding the court's reasoning in ITC Limited vs Raj Kumar Mittal & Ors. is valuable context for structuring arguments or assessing risk in similar proceedings.
Related Cases
Medal Electronics Private LimitedvsM/S Goldmedal Electricals Private Limited
The Delhi High Court addressed an appeal filed by Medal Electronics challenging an ex parte interim injunction granted against them in a trademark dispute. Despite arguments regarding prior use and alleged acquiescence, the appellants chose to withdraw their appeal. The court dismissed the appeal but granted liberty for the appellants to file appropriate applications before the Trial Court, urging the lower court to expedite the decision on the interim injunction application.
M/S. M.V.J Foods (India) Pvt.LtdvsDevanand Shenoy
This Kerala High Court judgment addressed an appeal challenging a trial court's order allowing the reopening of evidence in a trademark infringement suit. The original suit alleged that the defendants were passing off goods using the 'MELAM' brand, which was registered by the plaintiffs. The core dispute centered on whether a licensing agreement from 1994 could be introduced as evidence. The High Court found no prejudice to the defendant and upheld the trial court's decision, allowing the case to proceed with the newly admitted evidence.
Rahul Mishra & Anr.vsJohn Doe & Anr.
The Delhi High Court granted an ex-parte ad-interim injunction in favor of fashion designer Rahul Mishra, restraining defendants from using or dealing in goods deceptively similar to his registered trademarks and trade names. The court also directed the defendant operating the website www.rahudress.com to immediately suspend the domain name and disclose complete details of the primary infringing entity (Defendant No. 1). This order protects both trademark rights and copyright/design rights related to Mishra's luxury apparel.
Primestack Pte. Ltd And Anr.vsJohn Doe And Others
The Delhi High Court granted an ad-interim injunction in favor of Primestack Pte. Ltd against John Doe and others regarding the infringement of its registered trademark 'CoinDCX'. The court found that the plaintiffs had made out a prima facie case, irreparable loss was likely, and the balance of convenience favored granting relief. The order specifically restrained unauthorized use of the trademarks and directed various defendants to suspend operations of associated accounts, domains, and phone numbers.
V.P. Nandakumar and Manappuram Finance LimitedvsJayashree
In a dispute over the 'MANAPURAM' trademark, V.P. Nandakumar and Manappuram Finance Limited successfully reached a settlement with Jayashree before the Madras High Court. The parties agreed that the Petitioner has prior rights to the mark and that the Respondent will cancel her existing registration (No. 5109630) and transfer associated domain names within ten days. This compromise resolves the petition seeking removal of the infringing trademark entry.
Facing a trademark dispute?
Arctic's TM litigation team handles ~120 trademark matters per year across India, EU, and UK. From oppositions to infringement actions, we build winning arguments from precedent.
Disclaimer: This page contains an automated summary based on publicly available judicial records. The content is generated for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Always verify details against the original source judgment before relying on this information for any legal purpose. If you believe any information is inaccurate, please contact us.